Issues with folders

• Hi all guys! I'm a newbie who is trying to set up his personal NAS at home..
    First of all, my congratulations to all of you, great community.
    It has been a week that I'm trying OMV, and I already had to reinstall it three times... What I did notice is that OMV is very fragile with shared folders, permissions, etc. Or maybe I am doing the wrong thing. At the begin I manually deleted folders while connected via SSH, and of course I messed up everything. I read that almost everything has to be done through the GUI, so I started from the beginning again. Fresh install, I created a folder, then I changed my mind, I want that folder nested in another one: so I clicked on modify, changed the path, and boom. Here my problem started. I always worked through the GUI this time, but now I'm keeping having this error:

The folder has no references (I disabled all the services), no permissions (I didn't create any user yet). I cannot even create a shared folder nested in another one (example: new shared folder "A" in the root, then if I create another shared folder nested in "A" it gives me another error -configuration object is not unique-)
    I'm just at the beginning, but I'm starting to giving up...
    Cheers,
    Manu

• Offizieller Beitrag

Yes, in some instances OMV is extremely brittle. As you have found out. But in many other ways OMV is extremely robust. I especially like that OMV is just a thin layer on top of a standard Linux server OS, Debian.

There are folders and then there are Folders.

OMV use the concept of "shared folder" for a lot of things. The shared folders are what you create in the GUI. And you use the GUI to specify how it works and with what. You just tell the GUI and it does all the heavy lifting for you. Writes config files, installing software, activating services and daemons. And so on. Very nice!