Will upgrade from OMV 4 to OMV 5 require reinstallation?

• Hello,

I am a newbie in OMV. I installed OMV 5. However I have seen most packages, I would like to use becoming docker and I do not want to get into docker thing yet. I am planning to downgrade before committing more to OMV 5. I would like to know, if I would like to upgrade, will I be needing reinstallation or simple apt-get dist-upgrade command would be enough.

Thanks..

• AFAIK, at this time there is no mechanism to upgrade an OMV 4.x installation to OMV 5.

--
    Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle!

OMV AMD64 7.x on headless Chenbro NR12000 1U 1x 8m Quad Core E3-1220 3.1GHz 32GB ECC RAM.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Hello,

I am a newbie in OMV. I installed OMV 5. However I have seen most packages, I would like to use becoming docker and I do not want to get into docker thing yet. I am planning to downgrade before committing more to OMV 5. I would like to know, if I would like to upgrade, will I be needing reinstallation or simple apt-get dist-upgrade command would be enough.

Thanks..

Unless votdev deviates from what he's done since the project began... When OMV5 is released, running omv-release-upgrade will update your system to the newest release (as well as the underlying Debian release).

One thing to keep in mind.. any plugins you have that aren't compatible with OMV 5, will be removed/purged.

You're far better off embracing docker at this point, since that is going to be where almost everything is going. Once you get the hang of it, it is incredibly simple.

• i am quite surprised that despite OMV 5.x being in quite progressed beta stage, there is still no solution to upgrade from 4.x, which is something i am sure will require extensive testing and several further beta releases.

SuperMicro CSE-825, X11SSH-F, Xeon E3-1240v6, 32 GB ECC RAM, LSI 9211-8i HBA controller, 2x 8 TB, 1x 4 TB, 1x3TB, MergerFS+SnapRAID

Powered by Proxmox VE

• Offizieller Beitrag