Scheduling backups

• I’ve got omv 4 running nicely and I’d like to setup some form of scheduled backup. What would people suggest is the best way to go about this?

There seems to be a lot of plugins available that enable all sort of features but I’m unsure which would be the most suitable for my case?

Ideally I’d like to be able to initiate a backup from my desktop which updates all the folders I flag. And each subsequent backup looks for and backs up any new files or files that have been updated since that last backup.

Could anyone tell me if this is possible and how to go about setting it up? I’m new to omv and it’s a bit overwhelming!

Any advice greatly appreciated.

• Offizieller Beitrag

You want to backup the shared folders on the NAS, correct.

In that case have a look at rsync and rsnapshot. Both are supported by OMV. rsync out of the box and rsnapshot as plugin.

You will find more details about rsync in the guide which is linked in my signature.
    You can also search the net regarding to advanced features of rsnapshot compared to rsyn. Both are standard tools on Linux so you find many information.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Do you want to backup your PC/Laptop or shared folders on the OMV NAS?

If it is the PC then you need a backup utility for the PC. Then you can configure the backup utility to use your NAS as backup destination. What backup utility to use is up to you to decide. It depends on what operation system you use. I suspect that you already have at least one installed and ready to use.

If you want to backup shared folders on your OMV NAS you need to have a backup destination. It might be a HDD inside the NAS; Another NAS; An external USB drive or even an extra drive in your PC.

There are, as you mention, plugins in OMV to help with this. What plugin to use may depend on the destination. And you might even run the backup of OMV shared folders from the destination NAS or the destination PC.