Rsync in Openmediavault

• Hi,

Myself Lokesh Kamath. I am very new to Openmediavault.

Recently I have installed OMV in our organization for LAN System Backup.

Through server I am unable to backup the client machines. I am getting below error. (Remote Backup with Pull mode)

Please wait, syncing <rsync lokeshkamath@192.xxx.xxx.8:/home/lokeshkamath/Documents> to </srv/dev-disk-by-label-DataBackup/Admin/Lokesh> ...
    Permission denied, please try again.
    Permission denied, please try again.
    Permission denied (publickey,password).
    rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [Receiver]
    rsync error: unexplained error (code 255) at io.c(235) [Receiver=3.1.2]

The synchronisation has completed successfully.
    Done ...

If i try below command from client machine to server it is working perfect.
    rsync -avz /home/lokeshkamath/Documents root@192.xxx.xxx.10:/sharedfolders/Lokesh

I tried with telnet in client machine (Ubuntu)
    telnet 192.xxx.xxx.8 873

Trying 192.xxx.xxx.8...
    telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused

I tried with ufw status from terminal
    ufw status

To Action From
    -- ------ ----
    22/tcp ALLOW Anywhere
    873/tcp ALLOW Anywhere
    873/udp ALLOW Anywhere
    22/tcp (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)
    873/tcp (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)
    873/udp (v6) ALLOW Anywhere (v6)

I am not understanding where is the mistake & how to solve this issue.

In OMV rsync jobs configured like this

Please guide me. Thanks in advance.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I don't use ssh to backup with rsync but instead use nfs shares with autofs. So my suggestion may be off...

Do you have ssh-server running on the clients? Without that running I don't think you can connect from the server to the client to run backups. But, as you say, you can connect from the client to the server fine. And/or run the rsync daemon on the clients.

https://linuxize.com/post/how-to-enable-ssh-on-ubuntu-18-04/

• Thank you so much Adoby.