USB -> SSD

• I have an HP Microserver GEN8 with a 16GB ram and an Xeon E3-1220 V2 processor.Since I want to build my OWN nas server, and I have compared a number of operating systems, I have decided to go for OpenMediaVault.Only 1 question is not answered correctly, no matter how I search on the internet and on the forum. this is discussed differently everywhere.which option is best to use as boot medium: SSD or USB (I have a 32GB usb stick, or a 32GB SSD drive which I can connect with an additional sata controller)The intention is to have the nas 24/7 which will mainly work with Docker.

and which version is recommended to use?I'm new to OMV.Install 4.x or 5.x already?

• Offizieller Beitrag

If you can use it, the ssd is better.

I would go for OMV 5.x.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

what about when i want to upgrade or replace the SSD?

Clone the old ssd to the new ssd with clonezilla.

will i loose my RAID5 and all of the data?

no

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

• Offizieller Beitrag

Is there a tutorial somewhere on this forum how this works?

The Guides sub-forum is always a good place to check - https://forum.openmediavault.o…em-Drive-with-Clonezilla/ but just about any clonezilla tutorial on the net should work.

and what about the extra space?

Google would answer this but yes, you can select option in advanced mode to grow a filesystem to use the rest of the space. Although it is probably better to use gparted to do this since the swap partition is after the OS partition.