OMV using a USB drive

• Hi all, long time no post, so here's a long post if you have time to know.

I have been running OMV for a few years now, and I've been really happy with the software, the configuration potential and definitely the very helpful information and support provided by everyone in the community :)

However, one of the things that I have had trouble with over the last year or so, has been the reliability of running it via a USB drive. I started with a Sandisk Ultra 32GB, and it started to get quite full with Plex running as a plugin. I was able to upgrade to OMV 3.0, and that was a good learning experience. Then I started to have issues with things not working properly, and then also OMV not starting up properly. Switching USB slots would sometimes do the trick. But eventually, it just wouldn't boot at all, I'm not sure if it was due to excessive heat or excessive writes on the USB or a combination of things, but it just stopped working; I could never get my disaster recovery plan working, probably because the USB drive had already started failing, as it wouldn't let me read properly to back it up :(

Eventually, decided to buy a 64 GB drive, and start afresh with OMV 4.0. I eventually got to rebuilding it in June last year from scratch, on the new drive. I kept the old drive as a backup, just in case, although it was not booting at all. Once I rebuilt it, I would take the drive out, image it on a Windows machine, then plug it back in and keep going. The problem is, that at 64 GB, it was quite large to back up and also I would need another 64GB drive as a spare if something happened in future :(

So then comes last week, I noticed the server was not working. We had a really bad heat wave last week...so not sure if that expedited this problem :( I was really upset, it had only been 6 months after rebuilding the thing...

I have it hooked up to a monitor, but I can't really tell what the issue is, I'm hoping it's isolated to the USB drive ???