Cockpit networking issues - can not enable networking

• Hello,

I'm brand new to using cockpit to create VM's and am trying to create my first VM with it. Currently I am getting stumped with networking and trying to get the default entry activated gives me the following error message.

Code
    Network default failed to get activated

Cannot check dnsmasq binary /usr/sbin/dnsmasq: No such file or directory

How do I go about correcting this?

Thanks!

• I am also struggling with that same issue, but it is not that simple. And it should not be marked not resolved.

I installed dnsmasq but it is in conflict with systemd-resolved. Both want to listen to port 53.

systemd-resolved is started prior dnsmasq when you reboot. If you install dnsmasq it will fail to start with "Jan 19 09:46:47 openmediavault.local dnsmasq[27846]: failed to create listening socket for port 53: Address already in use".

You can disable systemd-resolved, but I am ot sure the effect on OMV and Debian uner it.

Best resource and some convoluted - for me! - solutions I found are here https://unix.stackexchange.com…masq-and-systemd-resolved

So, basically using Cockpit out of the box is not working. Any suggestions form the wiser people?

• Anyone got success with installing virtual machines with cockpit in OMV5? This is NOT resolved because installation of dnsmaq is not possible because port 53 is in use like mentioned here.

• Since OMV5 is a installable imagewith default operating system Debian 10, i don't understand why cockpit is in the extra plugins when you can't use it. everyone will have exactly this problem.

• Hi,

I installed and maked working cockpit with this additional command via ssh:

Code
    sudo apt install dnsmasq

Now add in /etc/systemd/resolved.conf :
    DNSStubListener=no

and run:
    virsh net-autostart default

now reboot the system.

When the system boot, you have network working in libvirt (cockpit use it):

Code
    root@openmediavault2:~# virsh net-list --all