Slow SMB network transfer write speeds

• Hi I'm new to the omv platform. I'm running omv 5 and been having this issue where the transfer speed would start out fast like saturate a 1gb network connection then just go to 0 then will smooth itself out to about 30mb/s. Now this is not good for me because I keep a loot of big files on this NAS because I run plex on one of my other servers so most files are over 2gb and can be as big as 60gb for 4k movies. I don't really know linux too much so any suggestions would have to be explain. I'm not aiming for 100mb/s but would like to be around 80mb/s. I have also attach an image of what I'm talking about. Also SMB 1 is removed in windows 10. also too mention I also had this problem on omv 4.

• Offizieller Beitrag

There are many similar threads here. Perhaps you can find hints there.

Common causes:

Slow router/switch.
    No switch.
    Slow USB interface.
    WiFi is used.
    NTFS is used on the NAS.
    Slow and feeble Windows client.
    Bad cables.
    Network extensions using power lines.
    Bad network configuration.
    Slow drives.
    Slow network interface.
    Small NAS overloaded with multiple tasks/transfers.

You can run test on the network and the drives to check the nominal speeds. But even if that gives good results combination of minor problems using marginal equipment might slow things down.

Google "test network speed" or "test disk speed" for instructions on how to test your setup. Or search similar threads here.

It is unclear what the chart shows. But it seems to first buffer the transfers at full speed. Then when the buffers are full the transfer speed drops significantly. This suggests to me that your network is OK but you have a problem with very slow disk performance. USB and/or NTFS being used.

• I have a similar issue:

Complete 1 Gbit LAN - NAS, Clients .. Direct to Router (MK4011)

NAS:
    SSD connected via USB3.0 (EXT4)

Client: