Help installing Controller Drivers! Disks Not seen

• Can someone walk me through installing drivers so I can see my controller card? The card is a Highpoint 3740A. I downloaded the .bin driver from their website and have it copied in a /tmp location but I cannot seem to get it installed.

If I cannot get it installed and working I will have to ditch using OMV. This is my first time using this platform so I have yet to get it functional with any disks.

When I try to #sudo sh Filename.bin

I get a error: syntax error "elif"

• Offizieller Beitrag

Have you considered trying OMV 5?

First, assuming you installed off the OMV ISO.. is your OMV system up to date? That card is old enough I would think it would work with Debian 9, which OMV 4 is based on.

apt update
    apt upgrade
    apt dist-upgrade

then reboot and see if that card works.

If it doesn't, I'd probably install OMV 5, update it in the same manner, then see if it works.

• So I just did a new fresh install to OMV 5.05 from the main .iso on the site. Did not see any disks or the card.

Ran the following as recommended to upgrade to latest release and packages:

apt upgrade
    apt update
    apt dist-upgrade

Then, rebooted.

Still do not see anything.

Bios sees it just fine and the card configuration bios utility works just fine. I tested with unraid demo/trial just to see and it sees it but I don't like unraid and want to try to get this working.

Any additional suggestions?

• Offizieller Beitrag

When I try to #sudo sh Filename.bin

I get a error: syntax error "elif"

*.bin would indicate a binary and not a script, wouldn't it?

If the file is executable, you could try

./filename.bin

If not, make it executable with
    chmod a+x filename.bin

• Forgive me as I am probably a novice at linux

Each time I run the .bin file I get the following:

: not found 3: r3740a.bin
    : not found 7: r3740a.bin
    : not found 14: r3740a.bin