Useless SMART error is being alerted for NVMe drive

• Hi,
    OMV5 (5.3.2-1) is logging a "useless" NVMe property that leads to scary SMART alert emails that make me worry for no reason.
    Here is what I am talking about.

This drive is new, and I've checked its health with other tools, and obviously it's doing great.

The report is referring to Error Information Log Entries. A quick search reveals it is not due to the drive health.

Some interesting discussion here from bugs.debian.org.

I am no expert of this tool but does somebody know what could be done, like tellling the utility to ignore this value (maybe it's not NVMe aware)?
    Honestly I want SMART enabled for this drive, but only for real warnings.

OMV BUILD - MY NAS KILLER - OMV 6.x + omvextrasorg (updated automatically every week)

NAS Specs: Core i3-8300 - ASRock H370M-ITX/ac - 16GB RAM - Sandisk Ultra Flair 32GB (OMV), 256GB NVME SSD (Docker Apps), 2x16TB HDDs w/ SnapRAID - Fractal Design Node 304 - Be quiet! Pure Power 11 350W

My all-in-one SnapRAID script!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Honestly I want SMART enabled for this drive, but only for real warnings.

Personally, I don't think you need smart for nvme especially if you leave some unpartitioned space on the drive. Most nvme drives are rated to write their entire capacity at least once a day for at least a few years. You should never hit this unless you are doing something crazy with it. If you just check the life left every six months after about 3 years, you would be probably know when it is going to need to be replaced.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!