[RESOLVED] Migrating to OMV with existing drives

• Hi,

Forgive me as I am new here and I am very new to Servers in general (largely self taught and relying on the web). :?

I built a home server built on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and placed Webmin on the front end with a few other apps. It was all working fine but I wanted to do more and with my very limited command line skills decided to make the move to OMV and benefit more from the webgui.

So I wiped my system drive and installed OMV 0.5 all fine and so for love it except I have 1 issue. I naively thought that I could just re-plug in my drives into OMV they would recognise automatically and I would have no problems. But obviously I do. :oops:

When I look at the Filesystem folder it shows my drives in their full capacity and correct disk usage.

But when I mount this on my Mac it shows as empty and the size of the drive on the spare capacity of drive. Which gives me the impression that there is some kind of partition that I cant see.

I have tried to look for partitions using testdisk which got me out of trouble before, but I could only see 1 primary partition and all my files there. To be honest I dont really know what I am looking at and after searching the web with no luck hope that someone here can help.

Thank you in advance.

S

• The filesystems section only recognizes filesystems unless a drive is blank. In the picture you show you see the partitions you create before with Ubuntu. You need to mount them in the filesystems section. If they were blank you would have have to format them and then mount. How did you want to use them in your setup, via nfs or smb/cifs???

If you don't know already these are partitions or filesystems:
    /dev/sdf1
    /dev/sdg1
    /dev/sdh1

If the drives were blank you would see /dev/sdf, /dev/sdg, /dev/sdh. Explain a little more what you are trying to do.

• Have you got your screen shots around the wrong way?