HDD Will Not Mount After Booting Raspberry Pi 3

• Good morning everyone,

I'm pretty new to the whole Raspberry Pi scene, but I have understood enough to get OMV running and all that. I've been using a Seagate 250GB external USB hard drive and it has worked as intended for the last few weeks. Recently, I've noticed that the white LED on my HDD is blinking, indicating some kind of issue. I've gone into the "disks" section of OMV and scanned for devices, and it's just not able to pick this up. I feel like the drive isn't even in a state where it would be able to be picked up if there is a blinking indicator on the drive. I also have a flash drive that I've used with OMV and after connecting that again, the connection was made just fine and it was detected by OMV. Anyone run into this issue before and know what the resolution might be? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, I'm relatively new to Linux, but this has been a great learning experience. That being said, please keep the comments friendly. :)

• Offizieller Beitrag

I've noticed that the white LED on my HDD is blinking, indicating some kind of issue.

Have you checked the handbook of the drive what this white blinking LED means?

Other points to check:

• USB connection of the drive
    • power supply of the drive (is it external power supply?)
    • try to mount the USB drive on a Laptop/Destop with Linux to see if it is working (if you are using only Windows, you can boot a life distro like Linux Mint)
      If you are not able to mount it on the Laptop/Desktop the drive is most likely dead. Then you could try to remove it from the enclosure and connect it with a new USB to SATA connector to retrieve your data.