Rasberry Pi4 + Seagate External USB3.0 = No spin-down, no S.M.A.R.T. (100% resolved)

• Hi,

Complete OMV/Linux newbie here seeking help.

I've built a simple media server using Raspberry Pi4 and an 8TB external Seagate drive. Works like a charm, loving the experience, but...

The external HDD does not seem to ever want to spin down, which has me worried about its thermals and longevity. In addition, it will not let me run S.M.A.R.T. on it, resulting in error each time I try.

I'd be happy to provide whatever details may help troubleshoot this - but please keep in mind I'm new to all this, and may need some patience. I last used Unix at university over 20 years ago!

Meanwhile, the drive in question is: Seagate Expansion Desktop 8TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC Laptop (STEB8000100) and system info tells me i'm on version 5.3.3-1 (usul)

Would appreciate any help - let this DIY dream keep on keeping on!

Edit: I searched through this forum but could not find a thread that would answer my problem. A few came close, but the methods they used did not work for me - and the most promising thread is no longer contributed to.

• Plug the drive into a Windows computer and run the Seagate drive utility - it allows you to set spindown time.

John

Inwin MS04 case with 315 W PSU

ASUS Prime H310i-Plus R2.0 board

Two port PCI-E SATA card

16GB Kingston DDR4

Intel Pentium Coffee Lake G5400 CPU

Samsung Evo M.2 256GB OS drive

4x4TB WD Red NAS drives + 1x4TB + 1x5TB Seagate drives - MergerFS pool

Seagate 5TB USB drives - SnapRAID parity x 2

• Plug the drive into a Windows computer and run the Seagate drive utility - it allows you to set spindown time.

John

Will give it a try and report back. I doubt it will solve the S.M.A.R.T. thing, but if it can get the drive to sleep, I'd be a happy camper!

What did you try?

Lemme try johnvick's thing first and I will then make a list for you. Thanks for replying so quickly!