Rsync from remote server

• Greetings,

I am just getting started with OpenMediaVault and have got everything up and running on the LAN side of things, but would like to also set up Rsync to automatically download the files folder on my remote torrent seedbox.

I have SSH access to the remote machine, and it does have rsync installed. So far I have been able to ssh into the remote machine from both the OMV CLI as well as from Terminal in OSX and have confirmed that Rsync is up and running, but for some reason whenever I try it from within the Rsync Jobs on the WebUI in OMV, I get errors.

With the command: username@remotesever.com:873/filedirectory/ in the source server address, I get the following error when executing the job.

opening connection using: ssh -l username remoteserver.com rsync --server --sender -vvlogDtprSze.iLsf . 873/filedirectory/
    Permission denied, please try again.
    Permission denied, please try again.
    Permission denied (publickey,password).
    rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [Receiver]
    rsync error: unexplained error (code 255) at io.c(601) [Receiver=3.0.7]

Like I said, I have logged into the remote machine via SSH in the CLI on the OMV machine and it has stored the password certificate, but it seems like it's not being accessed.

Any ideas?

• For me it is also impossible to rsync into a remote server. I don't want to push files, but pull them. But I have the same issue. The remote server says the password is invalid. I can ssh with the account just fine.

It seems like the password is not saved, because when I click on show password in the rsync job edit box, it shows nothing.

As it is now, rsync seems broken to me if you want to connect to a remote server.

• Can anyone (or even Volker) confirm that rsync works in the latest version of OMV? As in: connecting to a remote rsync server, not connecting to the OMV server.