Installation on USB - Harddrive

• Hi there,

I'm new to OMV and am planning a new build right now. So far this board has helped a lot clearing questions, but one still exists:

Are there any objections in using an external USB-harddrive as a system drive for OMV? I've read the threads saying that a USB Thumb drive should not be used due to the high write ops, any similar concerns on a regular (HDD/SSD) USB Drive?

The reason I'm asking is that I would run out of SATA Ports if a plan to use a 6 disc ZFS array (not yet decided ).

Any other suggestions / ideas on how to connect a SSD/HDD to the internal USB Port? Has anyone tried a USB/SATA adapter yet?

Regards
    Madmike2000

• Offizieller Beitrag

USB hard drive is fine. I haven't seen an internal usb to sata adapter but you could leave an external one inside the case.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Does the board have a spare pci or pci-e slot? You could always add sata card if it does.

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

• It does have a spare slot, but I want to keep the power consumption at idle as low as possible. From what I've heard does an extra PCI Card draw around 5-8Watts. The adaptor, especially in combination with a SSD should be a lot less.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I have a couple of sil3132 based cards. 5-8 watts seems like a lot. I might have to check to see what they use.

• Offizieller Beitrag