Silverstone DS380 + ASRock C2750

• Prior to OMV I have never used a dedicated NAS OS before. I've been through several iterations of dedicated servers running arch, debian or ubuntu and have always configured my services manually. I have now seen the light!

Hardware

Case: Silverstone DS380
    This all started when I fell for the Silverstone DS380 case. It's an absolute beaut and I had to have it.

Motherboard: ASRock C2750D4i
    Mini-ITX, 12 SATA ports, 8 Core 2.4GHz Intel BayTrail in a 20watt SOC (passively cooled), 1xPCIe 8X slot, 2 gigabit NICs.
    The DS380 has been paired up with the ASRock C2750D4I on several tech sites, but when I first started I thought it was crazy to spend $400 on a motherboard - especially given the mixed reviews and the fact that I am not a big fan of ASRock (bad previous experiences). I tried to find better combinations of pci-e sata cards and mini-itx boards and no matter which way I turned I kept coming back to the ASRock board. IPMI was the deciding factor.

Memory: Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3L 1600MT/s (PC3-12800) DR x8 ECC UDIMM 240-Pin Server Memory CT2KIT102472BD160B
    I didn't really need ECC memory, but the fact that I could use it and that I use snapshot raid sold me.

Drives:
    OS: OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB - One of the most condemned SSDs. I've abused it for 3 years and it still performs decently.
    Storage:

4*Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 - Terrible reviews but I have been using them for two years with no problems. Update: 3 out of 4 died after 2 years 4 months.
      2*Toshiba 3TB HDKPC08 - Brand new, slower than the Barracudas.

Expansion Card: PCI-E: Generic Low Profile USB3.0 and eSATA card. (Amazon B00F920IYW).
    The DS380 front panel requires a USB3.0 header which the C2750 lacks (I thought they were made for each other!). This card provides the 20 pin header and extra USB ports on the back (the C2750 only has 2). eSATA is provided via passthrough from one of the internal SATA ports.

Software