drdy err dying drive, where to from here?

• Hi all,
    I've used OMV for many years, frankly it's the most stable thing i've ever used (as you can see by my post count of about 3).
    However its started to play up, slow transfer of large files, backups failing and it REALLY doesn't like being restarted.

Until i actually went into my garage and hooked a screen up to it i didn't understand waht was going on.

i'm getting these errors (see screenshot)

My setup is:

intel Atom running 0.5.30 Sardaukar
    One crappy 80gb drive with OMV on
    One 2Tb WD drive with all the data on formatted as ext4

So i think (please tell me if i'm wrong!) my data drive is about to die a horrible death.
    I've purchased a new drive and i have a backup of my data that is a few months old (missing about 200gb of family photos and recorded tv)

but! I don't know how to swap the drives over, can you advise.

I'm ok with ssh, but i'm a novice on linux.
    I've run fsck multiple times which fixes things but doesn't seem to stop the errors.

As i understand it i have a few options:

install the new drive, make it a mirror set and hope for the best. then remove the old disk and....not sure

mount the new drive on my desktop (ubuntu) copy the data manually over from the backup), manually copy over the missing files from omv and hope for the best then...not sure

some other magic linux command which will migrate my data...

thanks for reading!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Looks like the drive is on its last breath. I would use clonezilla to clone the old data drive to the new data drive. OMV won't even know the drive changed. If the new drive is bigger, you can resize the partition using systemrescuecd or gpared live to use the rest of the space.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github