OMV stops responding to remote access

• Hi guys,

I've been running OMV for a few months already, and I've been a really happy camper, until it froze twice in the past few days.

But let's not get ahead too fast... The system is built around a Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 motherboard with 690G+SB600 chipset and Realtek Gigabit Ethernet on-board, a 45W AMD Athlon X2 BE-2350 Brisbane processor with a massive Scythe Ninja passive cooler, 4x2GB RAM modules, all mounted nicely in an Antec NSK-6500 case. For storage, all 4 southbridge SATA-II ports are connected to 4 Seagate SV35.5 (designed for 24/7 writing in video surveillance equipment) drives of 2 TB each and 7200rpm, mounted in an internal, 3-bay cooling rack with a 12cm fan. The drives are configured in a RAID-5. The operating system OMV 0.3.1 Omnius is running on a 8GB 133x Kingston CompactFlash card, mounted in the motherboard's IDE socket through an adapter. (CF cards have IDE interface.)

This baby has been running flawlessly and quietly for weeks. But then, one morning it wouldn't respond. As it is mounted in a closet with all the other networking equipment, I don't have a display or keyboard as local console. After a reboot, everything seemed fine; nothing showed up in the logs, I only lost about 40 minutes of graphs.

This morning, it did it again. It wasn't responding even to PING, although the NIC lights seemed normal. After a reboot, nothing was found in the logs either. The gap in graphs shows that something went wrong exactly at midnight.

The CF card is only 16% full. I'd rather keep this setup than replace the CF with a noisy old IDE drive. I assume I should turn off the automatic graph generation in cron somewhere, but what file do I need to edit?

What else could be causing this?

Many thanks in advance!