Mirror/move OMV system disk and RAID 5 data disks to new machine?

• Hi everybody, total NOOB here, appreciate any "Betty Crocker" feedback anyone can give.

i have had OMV set up on an old Pentium 4 machine for a few months now with 5 WD red HDDs in Raid5. I've decided to upgrade the MB, Processor and the system drive to improve performance and increase longevity of the system drive (current system drive is VERY old and I fear will fail at some point soon).

I bought a WD red HDD to replace the current system drive, and a new MB, processor, case etc for a new build.

Questions:

1. Should I "mirror" the current system drive to the new one, or do a whole new install fro an ISO disk? If it's easier/better to copy the entire. sys drive, how do I do that?

2. Could someone give me step by step instructions on how to move/setup the 5 RAID data disks?can I just plug them in and select mount via the GUI?

• If you are on OMV 1.0 you can move/clone your systemdrive with clonezilla.
    I recommend a fresh installation of 1.0 without your datadisks, then plugin your datadisks and mount the RAID. OMV should recognize it
    If your MB is a newer one, you can try to install Kernel 3.16 with omvextras, see my sig.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I recommend a fresh installation of 1.0 without your datadisks, then plugin your datadisks and mount the RAID. OMV should recognize it
    If your MB is a newer one, you can try to install Kernel 3.16 with omvextras, see my sig.

That's what I did when I rebuilt.. Easy peasy. Just make sure you don't hook up the data drives before installing to minimize the risk of data loss..