HP N54L as Media Server, Backup Server, and... Virtual Machines lab.

• Hi all,
    I'm new to OMV and also in the forums, first of all thank you, I've found lots of inspiration here and many many helpful advice.
    Now that my build is (almost) done, I would like to share with you.

I've a HP Microserver N54L and have added 16GB RAM, a HP P410 raid controller, and 3 x 3TB disks (in Raid5).
    At the moment I'm using the 250GB disk that came with the server for the OS (OMV of course) but I'm thinking on improving this by adding a new disk and doing Raid 1 mirror.
    Probably will also add a PCIe USB3.0 controller to improve the USB transfers (once you're used to USB3.0 speeds it's a pain to roll back to USB2.0).

The main purposes of the server are:

• Home Media Server - With PlexMediaServer daily serving content to a Samsung Smart TV (plex client), and other devices sporadically.
    • Backup server - Backing up the 2 laptops on my home.
    • Virtual Machine Lab - Because of my work I need to do software installations on different platforms (Windows and Linux) and I've found VirtualBox to be the most effective in terms of performance and functionality, currently using Vagrant to manage my VM (templates, provision, etc) and that have added lots of productivity to my days. I've tried ESXi and Proxmox, both provide have good performance and functionally but once I've learnt Vagrant I couldn't live without it, and the vagrant plugins for those providers don't provide all the features that the virtualbox do.
    • In the near future I've plans to setup an ownCloud to serve as repository/backup for contacts, calendar and documents in my phone.

So that's it for now, no wait, I'm heading to the donate page now to show a little appreciation to this amazing project.

Have a great day you all!

---

omv 6.3 | 6.2-pve kernel | Ryzen 5700G | 64GB RAM | 2 x 2TB NVME | 2 x 4GB HDD

plugins: omvextrasorg | kvm | cputemp | diskstats | filebrowser | sharerootfs | wetty