Low Transfer Speeds

• Hi, I've been using OMV for around 2 months on a HP dv6 laptop. Although I am quite satisfied with the overall system, ever since i began using it i could only reach a max transfer speed of 5MB/ps over SMB and AFP. Now however, the max speed has dropped to 2MB/ps on both protocols.

Configuration:

• Intel Core i7 Processor (3rd Generation)
    • 8GB RAM
    • 750GB HDD (Vendor: ATA)
    • Linux 3.16 (x64) Kernel
    • OMV v1.4 Kralizec
    • Onboard Broadcom Gigabit Ethernet Adapter

Physical Disk Properties:

• Adv. Power Mgmt: 254 - Max Performance w/ Max Power Usage
    • Auto Acoustic Mgmt: Max Performance w/ Max Acoustic Output
    • Spindown Time: 5 mins
    • Write-cache: enabled
    • RAID: disabled
    • S.M.A.R.T: enabled

Network Configuration

• Router: TP-Link 150Mbps Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router
    • Network Cable: CAT5
    • IP Address: DHCP (Static)

It has come to my notice that the normal data transfer rates are well above 50MB/ps, hence I would much appreciate someone's help in increasing my transfer speeds.

Version: OMV 1.6 (Kralizec) w/ Backports 3.16 amd64 Kernel & OMV-Extras.org 1.2
    Hardware: HP g6 w/ Intel Core i7 Processor, 8GB RAM, 750GB HDD
    Services: AFP, SMB/CIFS, SSH, FTP, Plex, AutoShutdown

5 Mal editiert, zuletzt von Damian ()

• Test the disk read-write speeds, if they don't surpass 50-60MB/s which can be normal in laptop spin disk, not too much too do there.

Code
    root@NAS:~# hdparm -I /dev/sda | grep -i speed
    *    Gen1 signaling speed (1.5Gb/s)
    *    Gen2 signaling speed (3.0Gb/s)

Code
    root@NAS:~# hdparm -t /dev/sda
    /dev/sda:
    Timing buffered disk reads: 260 MB in  3.01 seconds = 86.42 MB/sec

5 Mal editiert, zuletzt von Damian ()

• Damian,

which TP-Link Model you are talking about? This one?
    http://www.tp-link.com.de/prod…ils/?model=TD-W8151N#down

That has 10/100 MB on LAN...bad for your data rate :) Even so, if you are using wireless...