BTRFS Raid1 Setup

• I am almost finished building what will be my first NAS and I have decided to go with OMV. I am fairly new to the linux OS (I've installed Debian onto my laptop to become more familiar with the environment).

Getting to my point, after some research I have settled on using BTRFS Raid1 for my data disks, which is now supported in the latest OMV (Also, I am using ECC RAM in this NAS build). My question is, once I create the BTRFS Raid1 setup, what do I need to do in the future to keep it performing optimally?

As in do I need to run any sort of scrub periodically? Etc. Since this is my first NAS, I am not familiar with what needs to be done to keep the data disks in check.

Thank you for the help.

• Offizieller Beitrag

raid1 is a mirror. Everything is written the same to both drives. I wouldn't think you would need to scrub since that has to do with parity.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Btrfs support for now is minimum, just to mount a FS and from there expand to share folders from the raid1 in the webUI.

I run a raid1 setup with 3 different size drives, i run fortnightly scrub in the scheduled tasks. Some people prefer weekly, others daily.

Is being working for me with no problems with kernel 3.16.7 (the backport one), you have to watch very closely kernel upgrades and wait reasonable time to avoid issues (3.17.1, also 3.16.2 to 3.16.4 had serious problems)

Also my rootfs is btrfs in a subvolume schema that allows me to rollback in case of something goes back, mayor Debian upgrade generally or other thing goes back

• Offizieller Beitrag

What does scrub do on Raid 1?