Do I need RAID?

• Hi all,

I wanted to hear your opinion. I've read about RAID for sometime but I still not sure. "Should I use RAID?" I only use my NAS to store files like movies,music,picture and etc. Im quite new in this NAS world. ?(

This is HDD configuration :

1 x 120GB Samsung SSD : used for OS
    4 x 2 TB WD Green : 2 used for store file & 2 used for backup

Thanks.

• That is a decision you have to take!

If you want use all your hard drive capacity and if one or more drives fails and the data on that drive(s) is not relevant so go for it, but if you want some redundancy on data you have to loose some capacity creating some type of raid array and then if a drive fails you had the chance to get the data intact and replace the failed drive.

• You say you are using two 2TB drives to store files and two 2TB drives for backup. Does this mean you are backing up the data drives to the backup drives, or are you using the backup drives to backup other systems/files in your home?

If you are using the two backup drives to backup the two data drives, then you already have redundancy. I doubt you would benefit from any speed increase of RAID striping, based on your description of use. So really, RAID offers very little benefit in your scenario and it complicates things when it comes time to add more disks.

The only real-world benefit you would realize from RAID would be that you would have real-time redundancy. This is a double-edged sword though, because corruption in the filesystem, deleted files, etc. would occur to the entire array, not just one disk. This is why RAID is not a replacement for backups. If you would be sacrificing your two backup drives to build a RAID array, then the answer is a resounding NO!