RAID5 new disk failed while rebuild

• Hello,

I have a RAID5 and one disk failed. I changed this disk and the rebuilding started. Now the new disk failed with a lot of failed sectors.

Now i cannot enable the RIAD5.

The new disk which failed is sdc (SMART shows a lot of errors)
    The other disks are sda, sdb, sde, sdf, sdg (SMART shows no error)

Code
    mdadm --run /dev/md127
    mdadm: failed to run array /dev/md127: Input/output error

Has anyone a good idea to get my files back?

Greetings,

Alex

• Thanks for your answer.

It was while the rebuilding. Perhaps I used the wrong word. In mdadm --detail were the following infos after the new disk were inserted.

active sync /dev/sde
    active sync /dev/sdg
    active sync /dev/sdf
    active sync /dev/sdb
    spare rebuilding /dev/sdb
    active sync /dev/sda

I'm not an expert but i thought only the new disk get rebuilding and my data on the old disk would be save...

• The disk was new and I checked it bevor

Could it help if I run

mdadm --assemble --run --force /dev/md127 /dev/sd[egfba]

or does I lost everything after this?

• This was the first issue. After I bought a new disk, I started the recovering again and now the system is in the described state from above.
    Perhaps it is important to know, this morning the recovery was about 50% I think.

• I thought about changing the mainboard. But befor I do something I would get a tip from someone. If I do something where I think it could help, i would damage the raid. So it is better someone who knows linux raid would help me.

Perhaps this information are useful too

• Offizieller Beitrag

Do you have a sixth disk to replace the failed one? Because you have tried a few things, post the output of:

cat /proc/mdstat
    blkid
    fdisk -l

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github