Prevent specified disk from spin up and being powered/used (limit usage of in-place Backup-Disk)

• Hi Guys,

I am new to OpenMediaVault and I switched from a Synology Diskstation with Raid 1 to a custom built NAS with OpenMediaVault. So far everything rocks and I really want to thank all developers and contributors to OpenMediaVault for this great piece of software :) :thumbup: :thumbup:

I am now at my final step of installation and I can't decide about the correct storage system yet.

Originally I didn't want a RAID Storage. I wanted an expandable storage (adding new disks over the next years) with full 1:1 backup of my data (although with all disks located in the NAS case). That's why I have a (dumb?!8|) question :):

I thought about having 2 disks where one disk is the actual data disk and the other disk is only the backup disk which is only used as destination for a manual rsync to copy the data. In the rest of the time where rsync is not used, I don't want the backup disk to be powered and running. I want to keep the time where the backup disk is running as low as possible (to achieve a long disk life).
    --> so is it possible to prevent a spin-up of a certain disk? Something like I can tell the system to never use and power up the specified disk. In my dumb imagination I think of something like an activity checkbox in front of each disk in Menu "Physical disks". As long as the disk is unchecked it is not allowed to be powered and spin up (to simulate that the disk isn't even there). Then from time to time when I do a manual rsync I would activate the disk, do the backup and then deactivate the disk again. It actually doesn't have to be checkbox ... its just a picture for an activate/deactivate disk functionality to ask if this possibility is somewhere (maybe hidden?) available.