​NTP and proftpd servers cause Odroid C1+ to crash on boot, then reboot, repeat

• Questions:
    1. Are services ntp and proftpd needed during boot and/or for OMV in general?
    2. What are pros and cons to disabling and not running them with OMV?
    3. Can starting these services be delayed until OMV is loaded and then start them with a Cron job or something similar?
    4. How to I make the output of these (ntp and proftpd) services VERBOSE during boot so I can troubleshoot the issues described below? Please provide detailed instructions...I'm a novice with Linux.

Issues:
    I purchased an Odroid C1+ and installed OpenMediaVault onto an SD card (the Flash Memory plugin IS installed and running). The initially compiled versions (i.e. 1.14 or 2.1) seem to work fine, but after installing any updates or upgrading to the latest release (i.e. 1.19 or 2.2.1), both the NTP and proftp servers cause the odroid to crash, then reboot, then repeat. Most of the time, NTP causes the crash, but I've also seen proftpd cause it.

This boot, crash, reboot cycle will continue without ever reaching the CLI / login prompt. I have reflashed both the 1.14 and 2.1 images ~20 times in an attempt to verify and fix this and the same error always occurs.

The boot log showing NTP crashing may be seen here (line 1319): http://pastebin.com/9kRKY4Eg

Finally, I reflashed the image back to the original compiled version (1.14 or 2.1) and used the following commands to remove NTP and proftpd during boot.

Code
    update-rc.d -f ntp remove
    update-rc.d -f proftpd remove

This seemed to solve the NTP and proftpd crash on boot problem. Once OMV is loaded, I can access the CLI and manually start the services from there without error. From that point, I can also upgrade to the latest verion or release without issue, but proftp and ntp are not running, unless I manually

I used both of the images at the links below to for flashing OMV to an SD card for the odroid C1+.