Am I correct in seeing that if you don't set any privileges, then the default samba share will allow everyone r/w (filesystem perms notwithstanding)?
Programmatically I can see why nothing set --> no directives created in the smb.conf, but it also seems strange that:
no privileges on folder --> both foo and bar have r/w to folder
foo rw on folder --> no change to foo's access, but bar no longer has any access
It also means that when adding a new user they would automatically get access to folders that were left unset (during the time when r/w for all was appropriate),
Is there a setting to make the default more prudent and have "nothing set --> no permissions"?
A related issue perhaps: how can I give one group rw on a share and everyone else r? I can't see a "users" entry in the privileges table.