I have a share whose SMB access is based off of group membership.
Membership to the group grants R/W access.
I've removed a user from the group, but the user can still create files/folders within the share.
The (test) user has window open to the share while I am making/applying the change by removing that user account from the RW group.
As I understand it the user should no longer have access.