Can't move files between shared folders on the same array

• Hi there!

I have 2 sharedfolders on my RAID-array. How can move files between those folders? Sadly there's no fileexplorer in OMV. :/

When I use WinSCP over SSH to move the files it just makes a copy and then deletes the old file. When I do it over smb it's the same thing. When I try to move large amouts of files this will takes days which is stupid.(and unnecessary)
    Is there any solution that can really "MOVE" the files in milliseconds on the same drive just like Windows can? Moving files via command line is not an option.

I'm new to Linux so I don't want to install 50 different fileexplorers just to find out that all of them only "copy+delete" instead of "move". Moving files inside the same sharedfolder works just fine over smb.

• Offizieller Beitrag

No, not without using the command line. The two different shares are seen as two completely different filesystems. Might as well have been different partitions or even different drives.

What you could do is only have one shared folder. That way you don't need to move files between separate filesystems and moves will be instantaneous. Do you really, really need two different shares on the same filesystem?

• Offizieller Beitrag

Moving files via command line is not an option.

Maybe midnight commander is an option? Has to be started on command line, but then you have a minimal graphical interface.

Install with apt-get install mc
    run with mc

• Can you confirm that midnight commander can move files between shares and not just copy+delete?

No, not without using the command line. The two different shares are seen as two completely different filesystems. Might as well have been different partitions or even different drives.

What you could do is only have one shared folder. That way you don't need to move files between separate filesystems and moves will be instantaneous. Do you really, really need two different shares on the same filesystem?