Low power CPU/motherboard suggestions for a complete newb

• Hello people of the OMV forum. I'm currently looking to build myself a home server/NAS as I've got HDDs lying around that all need consolidating into one place so I'm looking to buy a bunch more (currently looking at something like 8 8TB drives) and sticking them in a SilverStone CS380. As this will take an ATX/MicroATX/MiniITX motherboard board I've got lots of options, too many options. I've built gaming PCs before and that's fairly easy as you just buy what ever's fastest in your budget but for this I'll be wanting something that's low power as it'll be on 24/7 and as it will be doing nothing more than serving up videos via Samba and running SnapRAID I guess it doesn't need to be that powerful CPU wise.

Basically it boils down to what CPU should I be looking at that's low power usage, Intel or AMD? And then what kind of clock speed would I need? And what would then be a good motherboard for that CPU?

• Why don't buy an onboard CPU?

I have considerate this in my build (j5005). but at the end for the same costs, i went with an AMD Ryzen 3 1200 combined with a
    ASUS Prime B450M-A. So i'm able now to stream 4k without a problem and in future i can still upgrade my CPU if needed.
    Power consumption should be quite low as well.

• Let's take fraxors asus proposal. This one will consume around 20-30W (depending on what additional hardware and cpu you add).

Btw it is hard to find boards which provide 8 Sata ports natively so you need to add an extention card.

Further a 8TB drive (e.g. a Seagate Ironwolf) is around 8-10W.
    You see the drives will use more than double of the consumption of your board.

As you explain the Nas is serving only videos so I assume that it is not needed the whole day.