SSH Access denied

• Hi Guys,

I am new to OMW. I have installed OMV to a newly build pc. Everything worked fine till now. I tried logging into the sytem using ssh. But my root password is getting denied. I am certain that the password is correct as i installed the system yesterday und wrote down the password. I have checked that the ssh as enabled in the web interface. I tried creating a new user into sudo und ssh group. Even this user gets denied. This time I am really certain that the password is correct.

I just get dont it. My passwords are correct and the ssh is enabled. Root login is also enabled.

Thanks in advance

• Is Password authentication enabled in the WebGUI?

What is the exact error message you get when the login fails?

--
    Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle!

OMV AMD64 7.x on headless Chenbro NR12000 1U 1x 8m Quad Core E3-1220 3.1GHz 32GB ECC RAM.

• Is the column "enabled" and "runing" highlighted in green in the OMV GUI in the Dashboard / Services window?

ssh_enabledfsji2.jpg

[LibreELEC @ 2x RPi3, CoreELEC @ S12 Octa Core]

[ NAS OMV 5.xx (Usul) @ NanoPI M4 ]

[ Nextcloud 18.0.4 @ ODROID C2 ]

[ Motioneye @ RPi4]

• Offizieller Beitrag

I just tried it on a Windows 10 system. Still the same result

Not sure about Ubuntu but on W10 the key is stored under File Explorer > View ensure that Hidden items is checked, then go to C:\Users\<your user name>\.ssh (the . defines a hidden folder) open that folder then open the file known_hosts that is where the keys are stored.

Your error can occur if a key is stored in that file from another machine that previously used that address, so basically you delete the previous key.

But check Aux suggestion first.

• post output of "service sshd status"

mine is:

• post output of "service sshd status"

mine is:

I hope it doesnt turn into a rookie question. But I have to log in first to get the service sshd status?