UnionFS Setup and Reboot ( >>>Boot FAIL<<<) (Rpi 4 4GB w/ Quad SATA Hat Kit 4X Crucial BX500 SSD's)

• Hi Devs,

I am new to OMV.

However I encountered an issue whereby the latest version of OMV 5 stalls and ultimately fails to reboot whilst running the above hardware/firmware config when using UnionFS freshly configured.

I merged the four SSD labelled A B C D into one named ROOT.

I have done this 3 times. It is now I understand how to image an original setup SD and then I can reload it so I am safe to reboot from the imaged card but do I need to do this every time??? ;(;(;(

Please see below steps taken after reboot. I cannot reenter command line with CTRL + C or as seen by entering ENTER it just stalls.

Regards,

Sam100

• Anyone have any suggestions.

I formatted my SD, reloaded the OS and OMV and then reinserted the SD card and booted up. Without any UnionFS it still stalled at bootup the same also without any modified USER:PASS settings.

I since reinstalled a 4th time and have not booted down the system. But not I am getting issues where the settings wont update.

• I read this when you first posted, but at no time do you state how you installed OMV

So did you follow this guide

did you install and update Raspbian and OMV before connecting the sata hat

does the Pi and the sata hat have the correct power supplies

If something doesn't work as expected you need to go through a process of elimination, so once the system is up and running connect one drive, does OMV see it, can it be wiped and formatted, can the system reboot successfully, if so add a second drive and so on -> process of elimination

• Hi Geaves,