Hardrives Visible on "disks" but wont show up when trying to create a pool

• Hey All!

I am very new to OMV, have messed around with proxmox before until I broke it and figured I would give another Debian based thing a try. Everything as far as the set up has gone smoothly, but I am having some issues actually adding my hard drives to a pool or creating a pool.

All the videos I watch the hard drives show up right away when the person clicks on ZFS create a pool or Raid create a pool.

When I click on "disks" in the web UI I can see all of my hard drives which include; the one I have omv installed on+ swap and the 6 3tb hard drives I have connected with an LSI SAS card in IT mode.

When I go to Raid or ZFS and hit create, none of the drives show up. I read breifly an article saying that you need to add a filesystem to each of the drives before you can create a pool so I went ahead and tried that a couple times, when I added ext4 as the file system for the hard drives it would just say initializing for like 5 mins and then eventually disappear.

I am sure there is a simple solution to this. Anyone have any Ideas of what to try?

Thanks for any tips!

• Offizieller Beitrag

If you want to add them to raid or zfs, the disks must be wiped. If you want to add to a unionfilesystems/mergerfs pool, they must have a filesystem on them and be mounted.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• yeah there is no data on them, I will try wiping them again, should I try secure wipe?