Disaster Recovery Plan

• Hello,

I'm new to OMV5 but I'm a little desppointed by the lack of integrated full configuration Backup/Restore feature.

I red the Installation Guide, especially 58+ pages and I was amazed. You are seriously asking for a clone on flashdrive using a great but Windows program ?

Meaning each time you update your system you got to unplug the drive as you need Windows to do the cloning ?

Seriously ?

The backup feature propose a dd and other good tools on a share folder, that's better, BUT the dd is done without shuting down OMV, and OMG what about any database running in background.

Seriously again ?

There only x2 possible ways. Either a dedicated OMV internal program that do a FULL backup of all configurations including Docker and each and every databases but to be honest I'd be quiet doubtfull about it as there are many plugins,............... or a full cold backup.

I personnally use a cold backup as OMV is hosted on a Proxmox Virtualization Server. This way Proxmox allow me to do scheduled COLD backup, and suspend backups that I successfully testd and restored.

But as HDD SDD Nvme WILL get some errors (it's just a question of time), PLEASE DO PROPOSE SOME REAL testable restorable BACKUP of OMV OS.

If I missed the OMV5 topic backup I'm really sorry about it, but after using google and search engine I'm awaiting for your reply.

• votdev

Approved the thread.
  • The only issues I have ever read about on this forum concerning OS backups going south is from people in tears because they never made one.

My “integrated full configuration Backup/Restore feature“ involves

1. Cold dd every month or so, or when there is a major OS update.
    2. Update the backup OS drive and make it the operating drive.
    3. Save the last 4 or 5 backups on your pc.
    4. Keep your docker folder off of the OS drive, and back it up with the rest of your data/media drive.
    5. Keep copious notes and screen shots.