[How-to] Install Wireguard on RaspberryPi using OMV5 - OMV-Extras – Docker

• The scope of this guide is for you to be able to connect to your home shared folder from anywhere, using a secure method, provided by the Wireguard VPN server.

About me: I’m not an expert, this is the first time that I’ve used RaspberryPi, OMV, Docker, Wireguard. So if you find something wrong or that can be done easier or better, please share your comments.

A bit of context: the first approach I’ve tried was to use Nextcloud & Swag & MariaDB docker containers, but after several errors generated by Nextcloud and, after solving almost all of those errors, seeing that it takes too damn long (8-10seconds) to fully load the Nextcloud Files or Photos page (with no personal files added yet, only the default demo ones), I gave up on it and tried the SharedFolder+Wireguard approach. Also, I’ve found no up-to-date & working docker container + a working guide for Seafile on RaspberryPi.

This guide assumes that:

• you have a RaspberryPi (tested on RaspberrryPi 4B, 4GB RAM) and you have installed OMV5 on it (tested with OMV 5.5.23-1 (Usul) )
    • your RaspberryPi has a fixed/static internal IP address
    • you use a windows laptop/pc
    • you can login to your RaspberryPi via SSH (for example using Putty)
    • a HDD/SSD is attached to your RaspberryPi, formatted as a Linux filesystem (tested with ext4), which is mounted on OMV5 – Storage – File Systems
    • a Shared Folder/SMB share created from OMV5, which resides on the attached HDD/SSD
    • your shared folder is already accessible (read/write) from computers/other devices on your home network
    • on OMV5 – System – OMV Extras, you have installed Docker and maybe Portainer

These are the required steps for installing & configuring & using Wireguard on your RaspberryPi:

1. Create a duckdns.org subdomain, configure duckdns IP updates & port forwarding
    2. Create a docker1 user from OMV5 and get its UID and GID