Updating OMV NAS using USB Tethering

• I plan on getting a router for a future OMV build that I am going to do, or at least I hope to. Thing is, it won't have an internet connection with the router, as I already pay my bills for mobile data, which is enough for my daily use.

Coming to the point, can I update the server by connecting it to the internet using usb tethering from my phone? Will it mess up the static IP, can I update it from the web gui, after I connect the phone to the server pc, or do I have to do it from the terminal on the server? Or do I have to disconnect the server, update it, and then connect it?

PS: Sorry if some of these questions are weird, I have no experience, but I'm very curious and interested in these. All I want to do is set up the server, and update it from time to time, using the usb tethering option from my phone.

• Offizieller Beitrag

That is going to be kind of pointless (if I understand you correctly) as if your mobile device is not on your network (and it's using mobile data), the clients will not be able to see the server w/o a lot of hoop jumping, thus making some of it's most useful functions (smb, nfs, and a few others) useless.

If I'm understanding you correctly... Unless you don't need any local access to the server, I can see very few situations where what you want to do makes any sense at all (one of the few would be if the server was a remote backup server)

• That is going to be kind of pointless (if I understand you correctly) as if your mobile device is not on your network (and it's using mobile data), the clients will not be able to see the server w/o a lot of hoop jumping, thus making some of it's most useful functions (smb, nfs, and a few others) useless.

If I'm understanding you correctly... Unless you don't need any local access to the server, I can see very few situations where what you want to do makes any sense at all (one of the few would be if the server was a remote backup server)