Docker fundamentals - Do I need portainer?

• Hello everybody,

I'm new to OMV and I'm very excited about this solution, I find a total complete product with a lot of potential.

I'm trying to setup docker to serve an HomeAssistant Core container; I'm using the very last version of OMV (5.6.0-1, just updated).

I've a general doubt about containers: do I need to use portainer to manage them? I've installed docker with success and I can't find any resource in the GUI to manage any container.

I've tried to search for this in the documentation or in the forum, but I couldn't find anything so I decided to open a thread on my own.

Thank you in advance

• Need? Absolutely not.

Is it going to make things a heckuva lot easier for a newb? Absolutely. I love where Yacht is going but I don't think it's quite there yet (but development seems to be consistent)... so I'd recommend Portainer to a new user.

Air Conditioners are a lot like PC's... They work great until you open Windows.

• Have you tried the latest release? Docker compose support is much better. Also am working on adding a support bundle downloader to get support easily (downloads a zip containing the docker-compose as well as the logs for each container in it).

Still definitely alpha quality but it's slowly getting there. Always happy to get feedback if there's anything in particular you're looking for as far as features/issues.

Author of Yacht

If you need help with it feel free to pm me here or on my discord.

DiscordDocker Hub Pulls

• Have you tried the latest release? Docker compose support is much better. Also am working on adding a support bundle downloader to get support easily (downloads a zip containing the docker-compose as well as the logs for each container in it).

Still definitely alpha quality but it's slowly getting there. Always happy to get feedback if there's anything in particular you're looking for as far as features/issues.