How to install Plexmediaserver on OMV

• Hi,
    First let me say although I'm new to OMV it seems to be a beautiful thing

I have installed 5.5

The video support is amazing although some parts are outdated it would seem.

Anyhow, I setup my shares, and am attempting to installed "extras" and then install the plex docker versions.

When I install the openmediavault extras I do not have the suggested screens or options shown in the videos.

I was able to "enable" the extras repos and I installed and enabled the "docker and portainer"
    From what I can tell I need those.

I am not sure where to go from here. The videos indicate to install some other plugin options but I don't have those in the list and some are already installed with the "extras"
    Now what ?

I am running omv on kvm - virt-manager with network bridge and working perfectly.

I assume the goal for many is to be able to use the omv for sharing storage, and simply put their media onto their media storage shares etc. THEN ultimately to have Plex make use of that folder storage somehow ?

I mean I assume this is the goal in order to have both local network NAS shares as well as media server that uses the same storage in order to use your Plex for both only and local media viewing. Subsequently with the ability to point Plex or roku to your local media storage as well ? MAYBE ?

Anyhow, sorry for the long winded post but just trying to understand what is the process for using plexmediastorage on omv 5.5 now that the video tutorials don't really apply exactly.

Sooo...... Any advice or response is welcome.
    Please advise
    Thanks

• Offizieller Beitrag

Some of the videos deal with OMV5. At that time there was a docker gui plugin which has not been ported to OMV5. Now on OMV5 it is suggested to use Portainer or Yacht.

Here is a howo for Plex in docker. Can be installed either from CLI or in Portainer.

[How-To] Install Plex Media Server (PMS) container using OMV and docker-compose

• Thanks,