BorgBackup local repo - URL to call it with?

• Hi all,

I'm new to OMV, have OMV5 on an Armbian-based device.

I have the BorgBackup plugin installed, and have made a repo on my main drive via the UI.

I would like to now back up other devices to this repo using command-line borg from those devices, but it's not finding them. e.g.:

> borg list ssh://tim@odroidhc2/peefiddy

Repository ssh://tim@odroidhc2/peefiddy does not exist.

The repo name is "peefiddy", with OMV5 on the odroidhc2 host.

The messages I've come across seem to be more about backing up OMV to another host; is that the expected use case for this plugin?

• tlavoie

Hat das Label OMV 5.x hinzugefügt.
  • Right, thanks macom. That's the one I had been looking at, and it's talking about using Borg to back OMV to another server.

I am looking to use OVM as the destination host, not the client as in this case. That's why I'm trying to understand if that is an expected use case for the plugin, or if I should just do something manually like I would on a Linux system anyway.

• Offizieller Beitrag

That's why I'm trying to understand if that is an expected use case for the plugin,

If you create a remote repo in the plugin, it will backup the files you select in the archive to the remote repo. If you create a local repo, it will backup the files you select in the archive to the local repo. I would have to look but I don't think borg can pull files from a remote host to a local repo. If you want to backup files from a remote system using borg, borg would have to run on that system with a local repo on OMV. The plugin would help with the latter but not the former.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.