Something awful happened to my OMV and I don't know what

• Hi Guys,

I need your support to understand what happened to my OMV NAS. It's a basic config, 2x 3TB drives + old 128GB ssd for the OS.

z0ntf7G.png

Please notice that I don't use my NAS for 24/7 use, but I usually turn it on/off when needed (Plex, SMB backup, some torrent, etc).

I've been using OMV for almost 2 years and I haven't had a single problem. To be frank, I've set it up and tweaked it in the first 3-4 months and then proceeded to do only small updates.

Long story short, I was barely home the last month. I left my NAS on for a couple of days to download a poorly seeded torrent. Yesterday I tried to access my folders and it's all empty. The 2x 3TB drives seem to be erased completely:

4ulmjdQ.png

SSH was enabled with "Permit root login" on (yep, apparently I'm an idiot). The other services running are MiniDLNA, CIFS/SMB and Portainer running Plex, Qbittorrent, Krusader.

Also, since the last couple of months I changed my service provider and I'm now under a Public Dynamic IP. I feel like this last detail might be the main issue.

This shows well when the "accident" happened, around July 15:

N1BfCd2.png

What could have happened? Malicious attack? Is there some sort of protection on OMV that could have triggered a disk erasure? An OMV malfunction?

I now that this is full of rookie mistakes, I feel sh*tty

• KM0201

Hat das Thema freigeschaltet.
    • Offizieller Beitrag

Yikes.

Is SSH allowed from outside your network and do you have a crappy password for root (people always call me paranoid for this.. this is why I don't have sudo users as well)

Second thought is a CIFS client did something intentional or stupid. Maybe not realizing they were deleting files from the server, and went a little crazy deleting files? Is CIFS enabled without a password? If your network was compromised and they managed to mount your CIFS share...