2 x raid 1 with four disks

• Dear Community,

I have a HP ProLiant microserver Gen8 and used two disks so far (4tb each). I decided to upgrade to four disks and now I have options with respect of RAID.

Can I add another 2 disks in Raid 1 with a bigger HDD capacity (i.e 8 Tb each)? I would like to avoid to create a RIAD10 in order to have more space, always if I can have a RAID1 of 4tb (4tb + 4 tb) and a RAID of 8tb (8tb + 8 tb) in my ProLiant microserver Gen8 at the same time. Is there any disadvantage to have two RAID1 with different capacity?

Thank you very much!

• Thank you very much for the confirmation.

Actually, reading here and there, I understood that most probably it could be better for me going with to no raid and no pool and use rsync to create a backup. Or another option could be use UnionFS and Snapraid or no pool and MergeFS. I have to understand better as I am just learning and I must study more. Please could you explain me:

1) Can I use snapraid to create a backup/copy instead than rsync. I mean, Is snapraid a substitute of rsync to backup data? Any disadvantage or advantage?

2) Is snapraid or no pool fast as RAID0 or RAID1? Which one is better in my case?

3) If I go for no pool or snapraid, should I choose EXT4 or BTRFF? Any disadvantage or advantage?

4) If with UnionFS and snapraid I can create a copy/backup of the files, what option I have to copy/backup files in margeFS? Is Rsync an option?

5) With MergeFS, UnionFS and snapraid, can I use HDDs with different capacity?

I am sorry for all these questions and if I am doing some confusion, I just took info here and there and I am trying to connect in order to make the best choice for my server. If you have any advice on how I should proceed, I am ready to learn.

Thank you!!

• macom

Hat das Label gelöst hinzugefügt.
    • Offizieller Beitrag

Before you even consider Snapraid I would suggest looking at the website there is a lot of information on there, in respect of mergerfs