Consequences if no "omv-confdbadm populate" is executed (just a Noob Question)

• Hi all,

- Board: ASrock J4105

- Systemdrive: 250 GB NVMe Samgung 970 Evo Plus via PCIe1

- one SATA datadrive for shraretests so far

Started to work in GUI instead of commiting the last command via ssh before. Forgot it cause i had to do a reeboot in beween and then the attraction of web gui was to great ; ))...

I had some strange error massages when i first trieed to configure my fresh OMV5 install. They all came when commiting the configworkflow in web-gui save>aply (Changes)>....

Even the LAN-Adapter wasn't there and had to be added manually. Started to work in GUI instead of commiting the last command via ssh before. Sometimes I lost LAN connection at all and the hostname in gui under network settings was different from that one in the terminal.

After I did the "omv-confdbadm populate". everyting seems to work fine without errors.

As a blody noob I'm unsure at a lot of poits.... Even thought it could be caused by my Samsung NVMe System drive in PCIe

I'm not sure if it was the "polulate" i forgot, cause i installed the full firmware-realtek_20210818-1_all.deb package at the same time to get rid of an anoying "rtl8107e-2.fw for module r8169-error".

cheers

heinso

heinso

OMV 5.6.25-1 (Usul) upgraded to currently 6.9.15-2(Shaitan), 64bit, on my ASRock Celeron J4105 NAS Build (10W TDP ;) ), 150WPicoPSU, Raid 5 Array: 4x WD Red 2TB, 250 GB NVMe SSD on PCIe V1, 2x 4GB RAM SO-DIMM 2400, [read/write 950/850 Mb/s over GE (84 GB-file with i5 8th Gen, NVMe SSD as exchange partner)].

• - Did a new install tagging only ssh in debian from 10.11_net.iso.

- Coppied the rtl_nic stuff for the rtl8168 to /lib/fimware/rtl_nic

finally:

Code
    root@omv:~# dmesg | grep "rtl8168"
    [    5.555132] r8169 0000:03:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware rtl_nic/rtl8168h-2.fw