OMV6 as an Active Directory Domain Controller (AC DC)

• I've been using OMV for many years now, both for personal NAS servers as well as storage servers for small businesses. But I'm now setting up a business that needs active directory for a small number of employees (<50)

I don't really want to set up a windows server dedicated to active directory, and prefer to set everything up on a single linux box. However, all guides available mess with the smb.conf file that already has groups and share settings.

All I managed to find on the forum here are topics discussing joining OMV to an existing OMV infrastructure, not setting up OMV as the main domain controller.

Any help would be appreciated

• Thank you ness1602

After looking up Zentyal, I don't prefer to go that route because I don't like Ubuntu, and I don't think installing a whole integrated server environment in a container in Debian/OMV is a good idea.

In addition, knowing bits and pieces about AD tells me that it's heavily dependent on DNS calls/configuration, that's why I think containerizing this particular service is not a feasible option for me.

I don't mind doing everything through ssh, I'm used to managing tons of services through SSH, it's the configuration part that I need help with in order not to clash with OMV

• Offizieller Beitrag

I don't like Ubuntu

Strange... Ubuntu is basically Debian.

I don't mind doing everything through ssh, I'm used to managing tons of services through SSH, it's the configuration part that I need help with in order not to clash with OMV

OMV owns the smb.conf file and there isn't a good way to change the settings needed to be a DC. OMV will overwrite changes you make to that file manually. You could run OMV as the host with the KVM plugin and run zentyal as a VM to be the DC.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4