Best practice: unattended-upgrades vs OMV for security updates?

• Hi there,

I am still a OMV beginner and running multiple test instances of OMV6. So far it looks good to go away from trueNAS to a much easier End-User Handling of OMV vs. TrueNAS.

So many thanks to the maintainer of this great project!

What is not clear to me is the update system of OMV6

Debian provides unattended-upgrades, which ensure that critical security updates of debian get installed quickly on the machine.

My policy is also to be protected before to have the confidence, that the system gets changed planned. Means I accept a failure of a service over by automatic updates, vs a manually controlled environment, which gets planned upgrades. The reason is that human resources (incl. me) may be missing due to illness, overloaded, or whatever else.

So I would like to ensure that the security updates published by Debian team, get "immediatly" (through the daily cron) upgraded automatically.

I cannot see such a behavior of the OMV6 update system

Also I am not clear if OMV update system and unattended-upgrades can coexist beside on the same system.

Also for me it is not clear if the crontab of chrony executes reliably the crontab, which contains the daily/weekly/monthly tasks for unattended upgrade.

Can someone clarify all these questions?

• I cannot see such a behavior of the OMV6 update system

By default, OMV6 installs automatically the security updates from Debian unless you deactivate it.

Security updates not installed automatically in OMV6 - Updates/Upgrades - openmediavault

As for running along side unattended-upgrades, there was a report by a user that it screwed OMV.

This was at the beginning of the v6 and no other reports from anyone happened again, or at least, there was no new threads about it.

Maybe because (almost) noone uses unattendeed-upgrades:

unattended-upgrades decided to uninstall openmediavault packages - why? - Updates/Upgrades - openmediavault