Drives and MergerFS unmounting automatically after a while (12 hours)

• Hi all,

This is my first post here. I have tried looking through the forum but haven't fount a solution to my issue.

I have been using OMV since June having switched from Unraid and it has been great. However, over the last few weeks I have been having intermittent disconnect issues.

The drives in my MergerFS pool will randomly unmount which causes the pool to unmount. This has happened a few times over the last 3 weeks, but it seems to happen more frequently. Last night it happened, and then I restarted OMV and then everything worked again, but then 12 hours later it happened again.

I am pretty new to this so don't really know how to trouble shoot this.

I have a Dell LSI 9240-8i with 7 HDD's powered by a standalone PSU and 3 SSD's connected directly to the motherboard.

Six drives are in the MergerFS pool and 1 is used for parity using SnapRAID.

I'm not sure what information I should provide for trouble shooting, so please let me know if there is anything else I can add.

I have attached the logs as there is a 10k character limit to paste here, but I have included snippets below.

This is the syslog where the issue starts.

unmount1.txt

And then here is the same syslog for when the unmount happened 12 hours later.

unmount2.txt

Here is some additional info.

forum.openmediavault.org/wsc/index.php?attachment/26976/

• Offizieller Beitrag

What kind of case? I would guess either the 9240 is getting to hot and having issues or you are having issues with the power supply.

It makes sense that the pool is being unmounted because it is losing a branch but mergerfs can't unmount the underlying filesystem.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs