Posts by chris_kmn

Good question. I honestly was not aware of that in my sources and I am not really a linux expert…

But there are some additional files in the sources.d folder.

What about backing up your sources and copy mine into your folder and see if it works ?

One more thing to try is using the standard repository:

apt-get install nvidia-xconfig

I tried some more things and changed one setting that I have done to overcome issues with nvidia hw transcoding.

in grub I changed the following kernel parameter:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text acpi_osi=! \"acpi_osi=Windows 2015\" mem_sleep_default=deep pcie_aspm=off"

As far as I understand is, that this is telling Linux it is on a windows system.

After I changed it back to:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text mem_sleep_default=deep"

Everything seems to work. Autoshutdown service is active and HW transcoding is operative.....

Does this make sense to you ?

I don`t know how to tell....... But after suspend - and now with running autoshutdown - my hardware transcoding isn't working anymore...

so my guess is, that there IS a conflict with the nvidia scripts from #43 :-( :-( :-(

nvidia-smi isnt working anymore also. And to get it back working I have to reboot my system :-(

Code
    root@MalibuNAS:~# nvidia-smi
    Unable to determine the device handle for GPU 0000:01:00.0: Unknown Error

can't we go back to the original version (5.1.7 ?) ?

I'll give it a try. But I already removed the plugin as you described, started from scratch - buth without purge. But after removing it again the result is:

BUT:

This time it seems to work.... and one more but: meanwhile I've changed my network setup from DHCP to static and also disabled the ipv6 support of my Plex server that is running on my OMV.

This is the log:

There might be a (major) difference in my setup. I am using nvidia hardware transcoding and therefore I had to install specific nvidia sleep and resume scripts. may be that could help to find the reason ?!