Posts by shockwave

I have been using OMV for a while now and it has been great. When I first created it, I installed Nextcloud and was using that as my main method of storing/organizing files. I have decided to stop using Nextcloud and therefore need to rearrange some of my shared folders. For example, I have "folder1" and "folder2". I would like to move "folder1" and all of its contents into "folder2". "folder2" will become the parent of "folder1".

What is the best way to do this? I am confused about how this works.

You need an OpenVPN client application on the machine you will be connecting from. You do not need a third party VPN service.

This is the HowTo I used.

Code
    https://chrislazari.com/pfsense-setting-up-openvpn-on-pfsense-2-4/

So, just to be clear. I don't need any kind of third party service. I just need to correctly setup my router and my computer? I don't need any kind of dynamic dns or dedicated IP?

I have been using OMV for a couple of months now and really like it. So far, it's been flawless. There are a couple things keeping me from dropping some of my other online accounts.

1. I would like to be able to access the server remotely using OpenVPN so I am not opening the entire system up to the internet. I have followed several tutorials, but so far have not managed this. I feel there is something I must be missing.

2. Because my Nextcloud encryption is self-signed I get a warning each time I connect. It wouldn't normally be a big deal, but I am unable to add it to Gnome accounts. It is also stopping me from syncing Joplin notes.

If I can figure out these two things, my system will be near perfect and I will be able to get rid of some of my other online accounts.

Would greatly appreciate someones help.