Posts by blazini36

For the target OMV user the device file and the mount point of the file system is somewhat irrelevant. OMV does not use labels anymore because they made more troubles than they help.

What is your target user?

What troubles did labels cause? I've been using OMV since 3 or 4 and never had an issue with labels. I've ran OMV on an rpi4, an Odroid N2, an Odroid H2, and currently a R5 3600 with like 15 disks.......no issues with labels

Feel free to submit a pull request. I don't have time to port much to OMV 6.x let alone this huge change that very few would use.

Lol there's this notion that because you know a thing or 2 about Linux that you must be a programmer, I am not a programmer so I won't be submitting any pull requests. You missed my point though, you pretty much stated that everything should be done through the interface and I shouldn't be worried about mountpoints. And that's fine, I understand that but the point is that my use for snapraid is outside the scope of the interface. I'm not saying you need to fix the snapraid plugin, I'm explaining why I wave to diverge from the interface.

A one time symlink with the symlinks plugin can give you an even better path like /srv/diska/dirx. I do that myself. What wouldn't it solve?

Well I've never tried that, I actually try not to diverge from the interface as you've suggested several times. It's hard to tell what's going to break OMV so I haven't experimented with that. It's obvious you're a dev and I thank you for the good work, but one thing I know about software guys is they get a bit overprotective of there design choices. This thing is an annoyance, it's not a dealbreaker. It doesn't really detract from OMV. I really just don't understand the reasoning for the design change itself that's the whole point of the post. Point is that with labels there was nothing to work around.