Posts by Magua

Is there a command I can run so know if I'll experience this same limitation when I try to grow my array? If I need to backup my array as it is now and recreate it (as you say it's fixed) I'd rather do it now than later when it'll contain even more data.

I'm still a Linux newbie so forgive the question if the answer is obvious - but if I replace the CPU on my OMV NAS (currently an i3) and insert a quad-core i5, will it just work and know about all the extra cores, etc? Or is there more to it than that?

I've already checked and my existing motherboard is fully compatible so that motherboard will not change - this time. But what happens if I do change the motherboard?

Thanks!

If you guys wouldn't mind indulging me, I'm confused. I had a RAID5 array (5 3TB disks) with one spare initially. (Edit: By one spare I mean that I could have any one of my 5 drives fail and no data would be lost.) One failed. I shutdown OMV, removed the failed drive and inserted an identical 3TB drive in its place and rebooted. Then, through the GUI I clicked 'Recover'. Now the status of my RAID is 'Clean' according to the GUI, the capacity remains unchanged (at 10.7 TB) and according to the details of my raid I have 5 disks active, 5 working, 0 failed and 0 spare and I'm getting the 'warning - spare missing' emails now. (I can't remember if the RAID 5 configuration would tell me I had 1 spare before my drive failed or not...)

Was my drive added to the array incorrectly, or is it functioning as it should (any one drive can fail and I'll be fine) and the emails are simply incorrect because of the spare=1 in the file?

I just want to be absolutely certain that I have one disk redudancy in my RAID as I did before my drive failed.

I have a Cyberlink CP1500AVRLCD attached to my OMV NAS via USB (it also powers my cable modem, switch, etc.)

I configured the driver as such:

Code
    driver=usbhid-ups
    port=auto