Beiträge von MikeInOr

I appreciate the considerate informative reply! :)

My 14TB drive came in. I decided to format it as NTFS and put it into my workstation. It took a little more than a day to copy 10TB of media files from my OMV server over to this new backup drive in my workstation. This was over a 10Gbs ethernet link and the drive speed was definitely the limiting factor in the transfer. Copying all of my photos to a SSD in the same machine is easily 8 times faster.

Doing a sync with robocopy (copy any new data to the new drive and get rid of any deleted data on the new drive) takes about 15 minutes for rcopy to compare the directories with only a handful of new media files to copy over. I think I will stick with this simple easy solution and just schedule the robocopy job on my workstation.

P.S. I did load a Zorin and a Mint virtual machines on my workstation. Good idea!

I have been running OMV for a few years now and love it. Last week my 43TB SAS RAID drive died and I pooped myself. I replaced the SAS RAID controller and was able to get my RAID back online. I have ordered a Toshiba 16TB SATA drive that I would like to use for backing up my main data store. I love OMV but live in a Windows world and have several Windows workstations. What is the best way to do automatic backups to the 16TB drive and be able to read it on a Windows 11 workstation? I do not need historical file access, whatever is on OMV at the moment I would like mirrored on the Windows readable drive. Once a day backup drive syncing should be plenty.

I have read posts that NTFS drives can be mounted on OMV but really only for reading because NTFS does not support ACL's.

I have read the ext4 drives can be mounted on windows with "extra software".

What app should I use to do my periodic sync from my data drive to the Windows readable backup drive? RSync? Something else?

Is there something I have missed?